Eat Local Think Global

Are you a “locavore?”   This word caught my eye today  and I find it suits my growing anticipation for the opening of our local Farmers Market.   A regional foodie’s magazine used this term which got me thinking.  Great word!  I’m convinced that consuming products, created nearby (both edible and non) is of great value to all of us.  So, if you are a “locavore” this means you make an effort to buy and consume foods that are grown or produced from your region.  This word is not recognized by my computer’s spell check.  Dictionary.com does include its definition:
locavore

“one who eats only locally grown or raised food, by 2001, from local + ending abstracted from carnivore , etc., ult. from L. vorare “to devour”

(see voracious).”

Yes, we all know the benefits of this.   Not only does it support the livelihood of your local farmer and food producer, there is scientific evidence that the health benefits are many.  Locally grown food is fresher than containerized and shipped items, and thus richer in vitamins and minerals.  Additionally, locally grown honey and some plants are known to boost resistance to allergies.  The website pioneerthinking.com relates how eating local honey regularly is an immune system booster and has the effect of those allergy immunological shots that reduce the impact of pollen on us.   Easy homeopathy, I’d say, if you like honey!  Local, small farms tend to use fewer chemicals than bigger factory farms that produce quantity and ship far distances.  This means healthier meals for you! (www.myoptimhealth.com) Plus, the best part, is that local food products just taste so good!

So, if you follow this thread a little further….the idea of  “locavore,” if embraced around the world would increase local prosperity which would enrich and vitalize communities all over the globe.  Healthier globe, healthier you!  Ripple effect here – increasing regional sustainability equals decreasing dependence on foreign subsidies.   Yes, I know that the western world’s consumerism assists local producers and artisans in 3rd world countries, and that we cannot solely disengage from this connection.  Balance and conscious choices are key.   A commitment to being a “locavore” does not in any way rule out the awareness we should exercise in our consumption practices.  Really, it simply opens the door to healthy body, healthy community, and yummy experiences for anyone.

As well as being an omni and carni, I will embrace becoming more “locavore.”  It can’t hurt and probably helps a lot more than we know.  One more thing:  today on NPR there was a story about Archi’s Acres, an organic farm in Southern California that is training ex-military  for sustainable agriculture/farming careers .   Returning veterans are developing new skills and gaining peace of mind in a career where they can continue to feel of service to their community.  You can be sure they are learning the value of being a locavore, and of establishing small farms that produce fresh, organic foods.

Take a bite out of something ultra fresh grown nearby and you will not only give yourself a delicious nutritional charge, you will be boosting your local economy.  Take care of yourself and your neighbor and the ripple effect will be felt far and wide!

About kcthreads

Two years ago I left an administrative government job to live near my relatives in America's "heartland," and to be free to pursue my own and my family's interests and needs! This transition exceeds my dreams of a life near loved ones with time to be creative. My husband and I have found ourselves young at heart again as we explore gifts we had set aside to meet the needs of our workplaces and community. He photographs birds and wildlife daily, and exhibits in local galleries. I design and make handbags and aprons that I sell through my Etsy shop and by word of mouth. After 30 plus years, I am finally studying art again, taking classes in watercolor and pastels from a nationally acclaimed artist! During the years I promoted youth development and family programming in my community and state, I have been compelled to find ways to support American made crafts and products. This recession has encouraged me to promote and support the efforts of local artisans and craftspeople, in the belief that a renewal of hands-on entrepreneurial-ism can make our community and our nation stronger. When we purchased this '30's bungalow three years ago, we didn't realize there was a farmers market within walking distance and an artists cooperative gallery even closer! I am an advocate of using and re-using products that have been designed and crafted with care, and strive to live responsibly and creatively. Another indulgent pursuit of mine is re-learning how to cook - after a lifetime of taking shortcuts due to long work hours and ease of take home food. My inspiration and tutorials are mostly from Jamie Oliver and Julia Child! After a year of experimentation and joyful homemade cuisine, I am inspired to share the crazy fun of cooking and dining with more than family and friends. As I cook, and watercolor and sew I find inspiration everywhere in the present...and the past. I was blessed with a Mom who was home with my brother and I, and who joyfully cooked and sewed and imagined the possibilities in life each day with us. My offerings in this blog will include some of her inspiration. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Enjoyment, farming, Food, Lifestyle, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eat Local Think Global

  1. DownDogDiva says:

    I love the bit about local honey boosting immunity to allergens…going to try that!

  2. kcthreads says:

    Thanks DDD…honey is so good in the morning with toasted oat bread and butter! Enjoy!

  3. Thx for the article. A few years back, I bought “shares” in a local farm that entitled me to weekly baskets of fresh produce. It was wonderful!

    • kcthreads says:

      Yes, I think more communities are finding ways to promote their local farmer! Glad you had the chance to have a weekly fresh food drop! Today was opening day of our local farmers market and it was delightful to select fresh herbs and honey…in two weeks they will have fresh, tender lettuce! Enjoy!

  4. Josè Pascal says:

    In the south italy we say the same think: “eat local and pay attention to the global (butterfly effect)”.

    I invite you to peek in my italinglish tin box: http://parolesemplici.wordpress.com

    I hope to soon

  5. Barbara Rodgers says:

    My husband and I try to be locavores as much as possible. When shopping we focus on local, organic, or best of all, both and organic. I can vouch for the local honey-fewer allergy symptoms idea – it works for me! I enjoyed reading your very informative post.

Leave a Reply

